fbpx South Africa National Final completed | FIA Rally Star Skip to main content

South Africa National Final completed

South Africa’s Finalists for the African Continental Final of FIA Rally Star Announced

#BeTheNextOne #FIARallyStar #Playseat #Thrustmaster
South Africa’s Finalists for the African Continental Final Of FIA Rally Star Announced

After a gruelling two days at Zwartkops Raceway for the Motorsport SA national final of  the FIA Rally Star programme the 12 South African contestants to participate in the Africa Continental final have been announced.

The MSA finalists were challenged by reaction testing, karting time attack, digital rallying, skidpan activities and a jury interview as part of the selection process. Eugene Herbert MD of MSA’s presentation partner MasterDrive, who was one of the judges,  said “It has been an interesting exercise assessing the candidates against one another. I was particularly impressed by these young driver’s understanding of the importance of safety on the road.”

The 12 young men and women going on to contest the next level of this exciting global competition as representatives of South Africa are Courtney Nicholl, Robyn Leeke, Yusuf Achmat, Emma Pietersen, Abu Cassim, Kristie Ellis and Pablo Marunga who all qualified for the South African National final by winning slalom challenges. Luke Addison, Robyn Isaacs, and Bryce Pillay who earned their places via MSA digital challenges and Setshaba Mashigo and Max Smart who were selected as wild cards for the national final on the basis of their performances at slalom and digital challenges respectively.

They will be joined at the African Continental final by Paige de Jager who was rewarded with a direct place as the only winner of both a digital and a slalom challenge.

The African Continental final will be organised by the FIA and hosted by MSA on a specially constructed track  at Zwartkops between the 27th and 29th of May.